Thursday, March 15, 2007

Women's weekly

I know I should stop reading them, but honestly there is only one women's weekly that is being delivered to my door, and it's actually the only one I read... I usually keep it next to the toilet as well, because it's the best place to read it. But the one of this week has got a funny article (don't they always) about what turns men and women off sex. Quite interesting... one of the things listed in the men's list is women who send text messages or who make phonecalls during sex. Why the hell would you start to send text messages!!?? OK, call me old fashioned, but I really don't get the deal about wanting to update your friends while you're at it. What would you send them?? "Hi, it's me, I'm coming"
And then, how do you react when you get a message like that?? "uuuuuuuuhhh, I didn't know that you were coming, did we have an appointment?"
I have the entire messaging thingy in my head now...
A: "no no, I'm co-ming"
B: "I forgot we were supposed to meet"
A: "NOOOOOOOOOO, I'm coooooooooooooooming"
B: "What are you talking about?"
A: "Nevermind, my man's turned off anyway..."
B: "Ah, you were coming"
A: "No, I'm in bed already, did we say we were gonna meet up?"
B: "No, I meant that you were coming"
A: "I'm sorry, I think I forgot, but I don't think I'll make it..."
B: "Noooooooooooooo, you were coooooooooooooooooooooooming"
A: "I'm sorry no, but I'll call you tomorrow to rearrange"

any other situations are more than welcome! ;)

Shoes at work




To epibrate

It's becoming a real hype, I read somewhere that it's a generation thing, that generation X were hard workers, generation Y yadeyadeya...
Anyway, everywhere you look around, people are in fact epibrating. That's why they created a word for it. In Dutch that word is epibreren, in German it's called epibrieren, in Spanish they use the verb epibrir or sometimes epibrar. The origin of the word is found in no other country than The Netherlands, yeah, where else!? However, it was created there because they named an Island "Epibreren".

But the verb has a meaning, and I bet you've all been doing it, probably on a daily basis, but never really knew that there was a word for it, I didn't up until about 19 months ago, my boss discovered the existence of the word at the exact same time as I did.

To epibrate means (Lars, I bet you already know, because if you didn't already know the meaning, you'd have already looked it up, haven't you? ;) ): to be busy with doing absolutely nothing whilst looking like you are busy with your work. (this is a free translation from the Dutch meaning) f.i. you are working around on the work floor, just spending your time, but you want people to think you are busy with work, so you take a work related piece of paper (or just some papers with testfaxes on them) and walk around with that, if you start a conversation with your colleague that has absolutely nothing to do with work, you put the papers in between the two of you; look at them, go through them, point at them, while you continue the discussing when you'll meet at the pub or so.

If you knew this already, I'm really sorry that I've wasted your time. If you didn't, you now know that there is a word for what you have been doing the past years ;)

Spielerei

It's amazing how many foreign words have made their way into the language we consider ours (Flemmish), even though it's not an official one, but a bastard version of Dutch.
Up until now I've mostly noticed French and English words, but for a really odd reason people have started to use more and more German words. It's amazing how many times I hear the word 'Spielerei' during a week. What does that mean anyway? Ok, I know what Spielerei means, but why don't we just use the words we have?? What's gonna happen to the language our ancestors fought hard for???

Monday, March 12, 2007

Fun site

Check out this site, I'd post the pictures, but if you guys visit the site, you'll discover that there is a lot more to see then just the pics I've posted and if I start posting all the funny things, I'd have to go on and on and on and on... ;)

Gorillas gave us lice

According to today's Metro, and an article I found on the internet, and which you can read here, Gorillas gave people pubic lice. So if you are ever misfortunate enough to catch the buggers, you might as well assume your partner has brought a wee visit to the zoo and slept with the gorillas ;)

Happy Birthday Donald



According to today's Metro, Donald Duck is celebrating his 73rd birthday today! (At least, if I counted correctly, he was born in 1934, if I miscalculated, please feel free to correct me in a(n) (im)polite manner ;p)

So this one's for you Donald, because all through my childhood you've made me laugh (and quite frankly, you often still do :) )

Jealous

Today at work I was sitting next to the window and had a clear view at the perfect blue sky! It's been just one of those perfect spring days. Next to the window there is this guy's roof terrace, and he was sitting in his comfy chair, in the sun, with a drink, reading his paper, his too cute cat beside him. Damn, I was jealous, good thing he couldn't see mee through the window (it's this kind of one way mirror thing), otherwise he'd must have felt uncomfortable under my jealous looks ;)

Sunday, March 11, 2007

Dream Day

I got an e-mail from Editor Bob (he always sends me interesting e-mails, I have no clue who he is, but anyway his e-mails are quite interesting, so I don't mind, and don't ask questions), saying today is Dream Day. Which is quite fascinating because it reminds me of nice dreams, dreams of holidays without thinking about what we'll eat, without having to take care of the household, without rushing the kids to daycare, then rushing to work, after work, rushing back to be in time to pick up the kids and then rushing them home to prepare dinner, feed them, wash them, put them to bed, etc. It makes me think of winning the lottery, or Euro Millions, what would I do if I were a millionaire, but also makes me realise it's nice to still have dreams, which are not yet realised, which might not ever become reality (like being a millionaire), because what would life be if you could not dream about anything without knowing you're able to make your dreams come true?

It's nice to be way down on the company's ladder, so you can always try to climb up, how frightening would it be to be all the way on top, looking down and realising you're all alone, that everyone is down there and no one will catch you if you fall (and it's quite a fall, isn't it?).

I still have loads of dreams; I dream about owning a car big enough for our family, I dream about going away on holiday with the kids, I dream about our kids growing up in a world that will be nice to them. I dream about them become whatever they want. I dream about a different job, about earning more money. I dream about a house with a garden. I dream about all my friends and how much I love them, wether close or far apart.

I've realised a lot of dreams, I have a loving family others would kill for, I have a good job which I mostly still enjoy, I have nice colleagues, some of them I consider friends, I have brilliant friends, I am happy.

Thank you Editor Bob, whoever you are, for making me realise all this once more.

And you, dear reader, what do you dream about?? ;-)

Never give up on your dreams, because the best is yet to come!

Something to cure hangovers

It's a Sunday afternoon, the sun is shining and the hangovers are probably all over the place (yesterday we were walking from Antwerp's Central Station to work at 8.30 AM and we passed druk people, so I bet they'll still be hung over ;) ), try this to cure it... This image contains loads of hands, the one who counts them correctly first gets a free beer, on my account! :-)
Good luck to all of you!

The scream

Everyone knows the painting named "the scream", yesterday I ran into an amusing parody, which I couldn't spare you guys.

My Blogger Panel